The International Jazz Day on April 30th each year was created by the UNESCO, and announced by the pianist and UNESCO goodwill Ambassador, Herbie Hancock and happened for the first time in 2012.

The celebration aims to remember the importance of this musical genre and its contribution to promote different cultures and people throughout history. Jazz is a musical style that appeals to creativity and improvisation, and it is associated with the struggle for freedom and the abolition of slavery.

On the International Jazz Day, concerts and workshops happen in locations all over the world. Its highlight is perhaps the global concert with webcast on the internet.

The 2019 All-Star Global Concert that takes place in Melbourne, Australia, will feature over 30 world-renowned artists including Herbie Hancock, James Morrison, Dee Dee Bridgewater and Kurt Elling, never-before-seen musical collaborations, and tributes that cover nearly every era of recorded jazz and ‘highlight the diverse influences that draw listeners of all backgrounds to this special music’.

The global concert will be webcasted live for free on Tuesday, April 30 at 11:00 New York | 16:00 Lisbon (London) | 17:00 Paris | 00:00 Tokyo (May 1) | 01:00 Melbourne (May 1) on jazzday.com, unesco.org, YouTube and Facebook. — Don’t miss!

More info & program:https://jazzday.com/concert/

The International Jazz Day is also celebrated more and more in Portugal where Jazz has not a very long tradition. Some of the known names of Portuguese Jazz are Carlos Barreto, Carlos Bica.

More info about Jazz artists in Portugal:portaldeartistas.pt www.jazzportugal.ua.pt/

Jazz Events in the Alentejo

Several Jazz Festivals are held in the Alentejo every year in Évora (Évora Jazz Fest, March), Santiago (Jazz Alémtejo, March), or Odemira (Festival Tass Jazz, July).

The International Jazz Day though seems to pass unseen in the Alentejo except in Odemira:

Jazz Alémtejo, Santiago do Cacem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.